Spring Cleaning: Fabric Containers

Besides the light dusting of snow that we got last night, this week has been full of the signs of spring. With spring comes graduation for my husband and then…? We Still don’t know what comes after that, the possibilities are very open.

With so many unknowns, I’ve been trying to get myself organized so that I am ready to go wherever we need to go. So the urge for spring cleaning has been kicked into overdrive. And since we will possibly be moving out of state, I didn’t want to procure a bunch of bulky containerage to organize my stuff in right now, but i did want something a little nicer than plastic boxes and bags. You may remember the fabric boxes I made for my toddler’s toys here. Well, I loved how they turned out, but they were time consuming. I wanted to make something a little quicker to hold some of my art supplies, so I decided to go with round baskets. And in the spirit of spring, I decided to do them in a cheerful robin-egg blue.

This was the first one:

So, apparently sewing a circle to the bottom oh a tube is not so easy (does everyone else already know this?). But it was faster to cut out only  six pieces (seven if you want an inside pocket) instead of 20. I decided to try a couple more in different sizes.

The first two I just ripped the seam open where I wanted the ribbon drawstring to go, but I tried some large eyelets/grommets (does anyone know the difference here?) for the big one.

I kind of like the way it turned out, even though I had to attach them upside down because of the way they go together.

I also have been wanting to try this project for a while, so I made a little prototype, with a few adjustments. Can I just say that this little tiny box is my favorite. Yep, it is.

Overall, I’m very happy with how they turned out, and I have plans to make a few more, plus about a dozen of those little boxes.

ps. I’m linking this up on 30 daysTatertots and Jello, and Skip to my Lou.

UPDATE: I posted a tutorial for how to make these. You can find it here.

5 thoughts on “Spring Cleaning: Fabric Containers

  1. I saw your link at Tatertots and Jello. These are great! I’ve been wanting to find an idea to corral all of the camera/ipod/phone cords on my desk and something like this would be perfect.

Leave a Reply

