Fabric Baskets: How I Made Them

Remember these:

from the previous post? Would you like to know how I made them?

I’m a little hesitant to call this a tutorial, however, since I have pretty much zero background in sewing and have only completed a handful of projects, but I decided to show you how I made them, in case you were curious and want to make some beautiful containers to wrangle your stuff in. Plus, I bet someone who actually knows how to sew could take my basic ideas and come up with a better way to do this (please do, and let me know!).

What I love most about them is that they are so versatile and so lovely.

If you would like to make your own fabric baskets, click the button below or go to my tutorials tab on the top menu.

I would have loved to embroider something lovely on the outside of these, but my need was pressing, and I didn’t have time to design and stitch something before sewing them. But that would definitely add a nice touch.

I can see these being used to hold all sorts of things, like yarn, fabric scraps, extra cords and electronic what-nots (we have a lot of these since my husband is a computer engineering student), embroidery thread, toys, blocks, diapering supplies, etc. I want to make some to hold projects I’m working on so I don’t have pieces of things scattered everywhere. I also think these would make great “green” gift bags. There are a lot of possibilities. Let me know how you use your fabric containers, and send me a picture of the finished products.

I’m linking this up on Today’s Creative Blog¬†and here:
Visit thecsiproject.com

 

3 thoughts on “Fabric Baskets: How I Made Them

  1. Pingback: 50 + Fabric Baskets and Bins Tutorials |

Leave a Reply

