Felt Quiet Book, Pages 11 and 12

I put off this page as long as possible. Well, to be more specific, I put off doing the figures for as long as possible. I mean, Adam and Eve in the Garden of Eden, in a children’s book? I was a little stumped.

In  the end I think they turned out a little silly looking, with their little portable bushes.

But it fit my purpose well enough, so I went with it, and I think they’re kind of cute, even if my husband does tease me about them.

As you can see, there isn’t much going on in this page.I wanted to leave it nice and open as a little play stage for my baby to use all the little figures on. In light of that, here are a few more animals that I wanted to add to the Garden of Eden.

You’ve got to have a lamb and a lion. A must.

The lamb’s wool is done using the Pekinese stitch. I like the effect here, and it adds some texture for my baby to enjoy.

And my daughter loves bears.

And here’s my inclusion of the reptile family.

(It’s based off a picture of a giant tortoise that we saw in the Galapagos.)

Theoretically, I could keep adding and adding and adding animals, but I had to cut myself off. I had to be able to call my project done at some point.

One of my favorite thing about my animals pieces is since they are magnetic, they can have a whole second life as fridge magnets or toys. My daughter loves sticking them up there. I was tempted to do a whole Noah’s ark this way, but I think I’ll have to leave that for another time. I’ve got a pretty good start, though.

ps. I am linking this up at skip to my lou.

2 thoughts on “Felt Quiet Book, Pages 11 and 12

    • No, I stitched a magnet into various places on each page. A thin sheet of metal would have been fine, as well, but I didn’t want it to be hard or potentially sharp. I think it would make it a lot easier, however. Good luck with your book, I’m glad you could find some inspiration in mine.

Leave a Reply

