Wooly

Sometimes I look at a newly begun project for a minute and think to myself “what have I gotten myself into?” or “what was I thinking?” Such is the case with my newest monomania: wool. Well, if I’m being completely honest, I’ll have to admit that I’ve had a slight obsession with wool for quite some time; I blame it on my first purchase of absolutely lovely 100% wool felt. It was love from the beginning. Anyways, since then I’ve been gradually feeling my way from one end of the wool creative spectrum to the other: I’ve sewn with felt, done nuno felting and wool felting, crocheted with wool, knit with wool, felted wool sweaters, and I finally arrived at the source of the stuff:

Sheep. Well, for now the fleece, but maybe someday I’ll be the shepherdess of my own little flock (are you reading this, Joel, dear?).

Anyways, this is how it all began. Our local yarn shop was offering a spinning class (no, not the sweaty, calorie-burning variety), and I really really wanted to take it. Like really. But unfortunately, everyone in the immediate area had the same idea, because that spinning class filled up lightning fast, and I wasn’t able to get in. Well, I’m not one to be easily deterred; when I get it into my head to do something, it’s really hard for me to get the idea out of my head. So I decided I would learn to spin on my own. Ha. Yes, this is the kind of craziness that goes on inside my head. Anyways, the first logical thing for me to do was to get some wool. Nice, clean, processed ┬ároving? Nope, I decided if I was going to learn to spin, I might as well learn the whole process from beginning to end, to try the process from the beginning, and I only stopped short of buying a whole sheep.

I got this instead.

Two pounds of Corriedale x lambs wool

When the box arrived, I tore into that thing like it was Christmas morning. Then I had to take a step back and think for a minute. And my conclusion?

I’m in way over my head. I don’t know why I was surprised how much this stuff smelled like sheep. But wow, sheep. And now, in an effort to clean this stuff there have been big bowls of wool stew soaking on my counters. I think I’ve finally figured that process out. I even got a little flick carder and I’ve been flick flick flicking my locks.

But I don’t really know where to go from here.

I’m slowly filling up a shoe box with carded wool, but I don’t have any further plans just yet.

Any spinners out there with drop-spindle advice (because I can’t justify getting a spinning wheel right now)?

Have a great Monday!

I’m linking this up at skip to my lou.

Leave a Reply

