Sarah Lewis

I have known Sarah since we were roommates together our freshman year of college. I wasn’t even in the art program yet, but she really inspired me to go for it. She is currently living in Arizona, and besides working on her art, she is a full-time mom. She has an artist blog here. Here are two of her recent pieces:

Untitled, 20″ x 15″, oil on canvas

Untitled, 16″ x 20″, oil on canvas

Here’s what Sarah says about her work: “They’re both seascapes, however are different styles from each other.  The second being more abstract than the first.  It’d be great to get feedback on the use of style and how this affects each piece.”

4 thoughts on “Sarah Lewis

  1. Sarah, First off, I miss you. I am glad to see some new paintings! The edges and broken colors impress me. To be honest I don’t see a huge difference in style between the two paintings. The diagonal brush strokes in the sky in the first painting are the only real difference for me. I’m curious to know, what was the difference in your approach between the two?

  2. I agree with Emily, the colors in these are really impressive, particularly the warm-cool relationship in the second one. Overall, I think the second one is more successful. I love the paint application in the second one, particularly the middle (horizontal) third–hope that makes sense. The first one seems a little unfinished, but that may just be in contrast to the second one because in the latter, each stroke seems purposeful and suited to it’s placement, whereas in the first, there seems to be less cohesion between the strokes. I would love to see a bigger landscape in the style of the second one, but I don’t know how it would work as far as brushstroke size, if you would want them bigger for a bigger painting.

    Also, these colors seem similar to those I’ve seen you work with before. Do you feel that this is “your” inherent color palette (as Itten describes it). If so, that’s great. I think it works very well. But I would also be interested to see you work in a more varied palette, perhaps with a greater range in value (very dark and very light). You might try a few color studies just to get you out of your comfort zone. Keep up the good work!

  3. Thanks for the comments! My approach for the two paintings were different with how I applied the brushstrokes. In the first I was more concerned with subject manner while with the second one I was really more concerned with applying the brushstrokes to create a visually pleasing piece. I agree Rebecca that the second is more successful. As far as a larger painting… I think I could accomplish the same effect but just use larger brushstrokes in proportion to the size of the canvas. It’s true that this is usually the color pallette I work with. I’m really not sure if this is my inherent color pallette because I havn’t thought about that much before. I agree it would be good for me to try a different color pallete and see the effect it has on my work.

  4. Sarah, I love the abstract landscape idea. I love the texture of brush strokes so my advice would be to keep going in that direction and doing more with brush strokes. This probably doesn’t show in my work, but I love when paintings have an area where all the “energy” is located–so maybe do the brush strokes in one general area and leave the rest not so full of brush strokes? Maybe that’s not a good suggestion at all, but it would be interesting to try. Also I think the paintings could use a little pop of color somewhere…something that brings the eye in and makes it more interesting. Orange would go well because of the blue. I really look forward to seeing your work next month!

Leave a Reply

