June Critique Group: Emily Carruth Fuller

Emily is one of my favorite people in the whole world. We were studio buddies together in school, and her bright spirit never failed to inspire me. She is a talented figure painter, and is constantly working to refine her skills as an artist. She has an artist blog here. She is expecting her first child in August, and I imagine this painting reflects some of her feelings about how her life is right now. Please feel free to give her feedback on the composition, the rendering of the figure, and the concept behind the piece, or whatever else you would like to comment on.

To Do, 10 1/2″ x 24″

4 thoughts on “June Critique Group: Emily Carruth Fuller

  1. Emily, I am so glad you’re sharing a piece with us. This does look a lot different from your show, but I like that you’re still dealing with the female figure. I like the brush strokes in the background, the pants, and the arms. I would work a little more on grounding the figure in the space so it’s clear how she is sitting. Perhaps adding a shadow would help with that.

  2. Thank you. I’ve updated it since then, I’ll send you a picture and I would love to know what you think about the grounding of the figure.

  3. I really relate to the concept behind this piece right now. And I think it’s a concept that not just mothers but also many other people can relate to. Sometimes I forget that it’s not just the aesthetic value but also the reason behind the painting that really makes it good artwork. I agree with Rebecca that shadowing might help grounding the figure and I’m sure your updates are great. Good work!

  4. Just posted an updated pic of this painting on my blog emilycarruthfuller.blogspot.com. I’d love to know your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

