Another Turtle

You may remember from this post that I mentioned that I didn’t have a sewing machine, and that the sewing projects I do are simple and done by hand. Well, since then, I rather serendipitously came into the possession of an old but perfectly functioning sewing machine. I won’t dwell on my ignorance of sewing machines by trying to describe my machine. It is a White, and that’s all I know. For a while, I was intimidated by it, and it sat on a shelf in my closet for over 3 months (part of the reason for that was my morning sickness and our subsequent 5-week vacation). Well, a couple of weeks ago I finally brought it out to try making another stuffed turtle, this time sewn by machine instead of by hand. I thought it would be a simple transition between the two types of sewing, but I was greatly mistaken. I found that things I was able to fudge and make work with hand sewing were absolutely impossible on a sewing machine. So my little turtle (and it did turn out very small since a lot of the bulk of the first turtle came from it being made of felt) had a long, hard journey coming into being, but I think it turned out well in the end.

I gave it to a dear friend as a present for her first baby, which is due in less than a month. It was a fun project, but I think I’ll have to rework the pattern before I try it again. Another project to add to the list.

3 thoughts on “Another Turtle

Leave a Reply

