Does This Ever Happen to You?

In my mind, I imagine myself doing lots of things, completing a lot of projects, and making some really beautiful things. Outside my mind in the real world, I am nursing pretty much all the time. I’m not complaining (at least not most of the time) about it, and I know I’m not the first woman to devote a large portion of her life to the practice, but it does eat up a lot of hours of the day. Don’t get me wrong, though, I love being a mom and I am so so grateful that I am physically able to nurse, because I understand that this is not possible for every woman who may want to. Just wanted to make sure that was clear.

But it does create this interesting, if perplexing, phenomenon of a lot of time to sit and think and plan things I want to do/create, and not very much time to actually do them. During the 3 am feeding, in particular, I keep myself awake (not always successfully) by thinking of exactly how I’m going to execute specific projects, i.e., what materials I would need, what techniques I could use, how much time each step would take, etc. Of course, not even 1/10th of what I plan gets done.

I guess this is just my lame excuse for not having much to show you this week. But if I could show you pictures of what I have planned in my head, you would be impressed. Just saying. . .

Hopefully next week will be more productive.

Leave a Reply

