Simple Felt Shapes

When I saw this simple baby project for a felt shape board, I knew I had to make one of these for little S. Of course, I had to put my own spin on it (read “make it more complicated), and this is what I came up with:


Okay, probably a little heavy on the photographs, but I just loved how many different arrangements I could come up with using just a few simple pieces. Maybe it’s silly, but I loved flipping the shapes around as much as my girls did. I especially like that the center pieces turn it into a matching game / puzzle for my older daughter, too.

Photobucket

Here’s a closeup of the stitching. Nothing fancy here, just the good-old utilitarian running stitch to join both layers of felt together.

Oh, and I didn’t take pictures of just the board, but instead of gluing it to cardboard, I sewed a piece of broadcloth on the back with a layer of buckram interfacing in the middle to stiffen it. I also sewed some magnets on the back so I could put it up on the fridge for my toddle to play with (and just as a fun decoration).

I think I’m so drawn to this because it reminds me of some Modern paintings. Not quite Modrian, but something close. Does it remind you of anything?

p.s. I’m linking it up on 30 Days,  Tatertots and Jello, Today’s Creative Blog, and here:

Leave a Reply

