Oh So Tantalizingly Close

Seriously. I was sure I would be done by today. I wanted so much to be done by today. I’ve noticed that I can work merrily along for months on the same project without thinking twice about the exorbitant amount of time I spend on it, but as soon as I approach the finishing steps, I start to drag my heels and secretly loathe (a little) all the final, nitty gritty details that need to be pulled together to achieve a finished piece. The worst of this is that I start to get sloppy. I rush the process. I force myself to move forward and settle for substandard work. It’s a bad habit of mine.

I spent this whole week drudging through a lot of finishing. The project I’m working on called for a fair amount of hand sewing. I mean it was A LOT of embroidery, which I love, but the finishing also involved hand sewing, which I’m not such a fan of. Probably because even after all my embroidery experience, I have not mastered neat, even little stitches. Ironic? Probably.

I quickly learned that hand sewing + finishing project dread = really sloppy work. But I ignored my inner critic just long enough to get almost done, and then I couldn’t take it any more, so out came my this:

and in a few minutes I undid several hours of hand sewing. It was a painful lesson. But even after a few days spent in crafting purgatory, I’m still not 100% satisfied with the results. But at this point I just keep telling myself “done is better than perfect” (wish I really believed this).

So for now I leave you with a little peak at my little project that I hope (for real) to share with you on Monday.

Enjoy your weekend!

ps. If you’re wondering about what happened to my sketchbook project, I have not forgotten it. I know today was my tentative deadline, but of course I’m not done (see the above for some explanation). I think I should have something to show you by the end of the month. Here’s to hoping!
Leave a Reply

