Felt Quiet Book, Pages 3 and 4

(If you want to know more about my quiet book, go here for the overview and here for pages 1 and 2.)

This was probably the easiest page when it came to the actual execution, but it was also one of those pages that I had a lot of trouble conceptualizing. Water and land separating? Hmm. That was a head-scratcher.

I drew out several different ideas, but I put off starting the page for a while. And even after I had it mostly done, I wasn’t really satisfied with the results. I kept thinking of it as my lame page, and ignored it as long as possible. I am still not sure if this is the best visual representation, but I’m content with it.

The mountain shifts up and down to show mountain to valley and valley to mountain.

The stones in the water were an idea I had awhile after I had most of the page finished. At first the left page was pretty static, and I want to add a little more. They form a puzzle that builds up more land on one side, or individual islands in the water.

There are lots of different placement combinations, which makes it a little more interactive.

What do you think? Would you have done it differently? I’d love to hear your ideas!

One thought on “Felt Quiet Book, Pages 3 and 4

  1. I love this! I will be waiting for more details on the rest of it. Hope you don’t mind that I’m inspired to “copy” some of these ideas.

Leave a Reply

