Beautiful Food: Pan de Yuca y Yogur

The afternoon I arrived in Ecuador for the first time, we loaded our 4 large suitcases into a taxi van, usually employed as a school bus of sorts, and head into the bustling city of Guayaquil. The first place we stopped was a little shop selling these little golden bites of heaven and frosty fruity glasses of yogur. It was the first thing that I tasted in Ecuador, and one of the foods I still dream about now that I’m home (that and ceviche).

Well, a while back I found a lovely website with recipes for lost of Ecuadorian classics, including this yummy little bread. I tried it, using tapioca starch since I couldn’t find anything labeled yuca flour, and it was very good (what do you expect with a bread that is 60% cheese?) and surprisingly similar to the original. But without that tall cold glass of yogur beside it, it just wasn’t the same. After putting it off for years, I decided to attempt the drink, which is something like a smoothie with yogurt in it.

I wish I had tried this stuff sooner, because it is so good! There’s probably lots of recipes out there for something like this, but I just improvised:

  • 1 ice-cube tray full of frozen (homemade) plain yogurt
  • 2-4 tablespoons frozen juice concentrate
  • 1-2 cups fresh or frozen fruit (if you use frozen, your yogur will be thicker)

Blend it all up in a blender and serve with some warm pan de yuca.

I’m linking this up at skip to my lou

Leave a Reply

