It’s official: I’m a knitter

So, while ago the local craft store had a grand re-opening, and everything in the store was 50% off (EVERYTHING!). So, I went a little crazy (á la Supermarket Sweep), and filled my cart up with all kinds of little goodies. Somehow these happy little bamboo sticks ended up in my basket.

Nope, I hadn’t a clue how to knit, I didn’t have a particular project in mind, and I just selected sizes at random.

But I did have a goal in mind: I would learn how to knit. I even devoted a whole pinterest board to the task. Well, that was two months ago, and would you look at that:

I did it. I learned how to knit (and purl, as a matter of fact). I used the tutorials found here. I also watched a couple YouTube videos (sorry, didn’t save the links), and that was that. It’s amazing how addicting this is.

This was my practice yarn, which means I’ve been knitting and unknitting the same piece for a while, so it’s a little rough from the wear. But it’s cool. Now the challenge is to actually make something. I’m thinking these wash clothes look like a good beginner project.

Any suggestions of good beginner patterns? Or books I could read? Or other beginning knitter tutorials? I think I’ve got the basic stockingette stitch down, but I don’t really know where to go from here, so if you have any ideas, let me know. I’m especially curious about what to do with the big needles. I don’t know what I was thinking getting those!

Anyways, I’m off to camp with my extended family. Have a great weekend!

2 thoughts on “It’s official: I’m a knitter

Leave a comment