Home-made baby food, and a quick update

I’m still here, in case any of you were wondering where I’ve been. My blogging funk ended just in time to get loaded down with work for my editing job.  From the way things are looking, I probably won’t be able to come up for air until the first of October. I’ll try to drop in here every now and then to show you what I get done in the wee hours of the morning (i.e., the projects I really want to do).

In the meantime, here’s a little follow-up to my last post about living a beautiful life:

Homemade baby food.

I’ve never bought a single jar of baby food. I’ve never made a conscious decision not to, like it’s some big valiant stand against the evil baby food makers (I don’t think they’re evil, by the way), I just never have felt the need to. My baby’s first foods have always been mashed up bananas and such things, and grabbing a ripe banana was always much more handy than going to the store to get a little bottle of the stuff. From mashing things like bananas, I moved on to steaming and puréeing.


Yes, a little more effort, but less expensive and easier than running to the store, in my opinion.

If you want to make your own baby food, you just need to take whatever it is you want to feed your baby and make it soft and easy to eat. That’s it. If you’re looking for ideas, this site has great information. It’s where I always go if I have a question about how to prepare something. For the most part, thought, it’s pretty simply. Most fruit and vegetables need to be cooked (I prefer steaming) and then mashed or puréed before your baby eats them.

Bananas, mangos, and avocados are okay raw. I try to go organic when I can, and you can skip adding salt or sugar, your baby will love it anyway. I love knowing exactly what my baby is eating.

Enjoy sharing some new, home-made foods with your little one.

One thought on “Home-made baby food, and a quick update

Leave a Reply

