I made a purse

It is now probably painfully obvious that I’ve been off my blogging game for a while, and I apologize (I’m especially sorry for the clunky, uninspired title; nothing clever came to mind). I know, today is October 1st, and look, this is me coming up for air. Remember how I said that I would be working on my own projects in the wee morning hours? Well, I don’t know if 5 am is considered “wee,” but that’s the earliest I’ve been getting up, and it’s actually been pretty good. The whole house is still and I can breathe in the peace before a hectic day begins. Hmmmm. The only problem is that the early early morning hours before sunrise are not very conducive to lovely photodocumentation, thus my absence and seeming inactivity on this creative blog.

But ah, here is proof; I really have been up to something. A bunch of somethings, really, but this is the first one to get finished, so here it is:

A purse.

Not the first I’ve ever made, but a first from my own design.

The idea behind this purse came a long long time ago, with this pin. It was one of my first pins on pinterest, actually, and the image struck me then as a great way to give a plain old purse some character, so I tucked the idea away, simmering slowly on the back burner, waiting for the right moment for me to put the idea into action. Then this little contest came along, and I thought, sure, why not. (EDITED: My purse got selected as one of the top 10 purses for purse week over at A Lemon Squeezy Home.  Be sure to check them out, and vote for your favorite!) I needed a new purse, anyways. Plus, it was the perfect opportunity to experiment with the smocking trick.

I thought the weaving effect was lovely, and at least worth a try, so with a little practice, a slight idea for which direction to take the purse, and some trial and error, I made myself a little purse.

What do you think? Don’t you love my little model?

I hope to be sharing a little more about my new love of smocking (and little fabric buttons) soon.

Have a great weekend!

ps. I’m linking this up at skip to my lou and at thirty days.

8 thoughts on “I made a purse

Leave a Reply

