Ecuador Days 7 through 9

Day 7:

With my husband still sick, I didn’t get much done today. We went for an afternoon walk to get pan (bread) from the local panaderia. That was pretty much it.

(These pictures were taken about 10 seconds apart.)

Day 8:

We celebrated Joel’s birthday. My dear lovely husband got another year older and wiser. Since he doesn’t like birthday cake, but loves chocolate, I decided to make some dark chocolate brownies with a dulce de leche swirl. Before you get to excited about how yummy that sounds, I have to say they were a total flop. It was no fault of the recipe. Total user error, as my husband would say (except he wouldn’t say it for this instance, when he tries to be super supportive so I don’t give up on baking all together). I burnt the dulce de leche, so I had to use a sieve to get the charred pieces out before I swirled it into the brownies. But the real lesson of the night was the oven temperature does matter. A lot.

You see, the numbers on my in-laws gas stove have all been rubbed off, so I had no way of knowing what temperature the oven was set to. I couldn’t even tell how far from the “off” position the knob had been turn, because they’re kind of swirly knobs, so I just had to guess and go with it. I think I must have been cooking those things at about 400° because they were completely black on the bottoms. Apparently 50 degrees makes a big difference.

Think charcoalate brownies. So so disappointing.

I mean, they got all eaten, as much as could be chiseled out of the pan, that is. (Check out the fork after said chiseling.)

Day 9:

We went to church. We walk to church with our awesome big stroller.

Are you starting to see a pattern with the girls in the stroller?

We also ate some crabs.

My first time eating crab. You know anytime there are news papers spread out underneath your food, and you’re eating over a cutting board and the use of mallet or hammer is recommended, you’re in for a unique culinary experience.

I decided that you can divide the world into two kinds of people: those who know how to eat a crab, and those who don’t know how to eat a crab. You’ll see what I mean if you ever try it.

I was pretty good at getting the claws opened, but the head was harder. I was a little hesitant about sucking all the stuff out of there after my sister-in-law told me to watch out for crabs that had poop inside them still. Made it a little less appealing.

For the most part, it was really yummy and really creepy at the same time. It’s always a little weird when you can look your meal in the face as you’re eating it. At one point I was thinking, here I am tearing the legs off a creature and using its own claws to scrap the flesh out of its newly severed appendage. Wow, sorry if you’re vegetarian or if you’re now a vegetarian; I realize that was a pretty intense description. Anyways, good luck trying crab!

 

I hope I’m not boring you all with this little log. I promise something crafty is coming; I can feel it. But I think it might have to wait until the chicken coop is complete and my husband can watch the girls for a little while. Until then, have a wonderful day!

3 thoughts on “Ecuador Days 7 through 9

Leave a Reply

