Who Else Wants Caramel Chocolate Cream Cake?

Anyone? I know I couldn’t get enough of it (besides the fact that there were 25 other people trying to get enough of it, too). I was going to call it Frankencake (because it was patched together from several recipes). Very catchy. But I was worried that I would inadvertently be associating it with my least favorite of all holidays, so I decided to play it safe with the alliterative title instead.

I made it on a whim for my brother-in-law’s impromptu marriage celebration. As far as wedding cakes go, it was pretty make-shift, but for everyday cakes, it was amazing. Oh man, this cake was good.

Here’s what I did. I used the cake recipe for the best birthday cake from smitten kitchen, and the recipe for caramel sauce from the caramel cake, also from smitten kitchen (I think the  caramel sauce from this recipe would have been wonderful, too). I followed the directions for these respective recipes as is, except I had to fabricate my buttermilk (pour 1 tbs vinegar in a 1-cup measuring cup, then fill the cup the rest of the way with milk. Let it sit for 5 minutes, then stir; learned this from my dad) instead of using the real thing. I sliced the two cake rounds in half so I had fours rounds, then layered the caramel sauce an two rounds and topped them with the other two, so I ended up with two cake rounds again that each had a caramel filling. Then I made about 1 & 1/2 cups of fresh whipped cream, lightly sweetened with powdered sugar, and layered that in between the two cake rounds. I let this chill in the fridge till it was about time for it to be eaten. Then I made a quick chocolate ganache from Martha Steward (next time I would use 1/3 cup of cream, because it was a little too runny for my purposes with a half cup) and dumped it over the top.

If you have any excuse to make this cake, go for it. You won’t be disappointed.

Leave a Reply

