I’m still here!

Sorry I’ve been a little distant lately, but I have a good reason. My sweet husband is back from the island to spend a little time with us while we continue to wait in limbo for our paperwork to get taken care of. It’s been five weeks since he was here, so I am thrilled to have him back, even for just a little while, and thus I have not been thinking about much else besides spending time together as a family.¬†Tomorrow is a holiday in Ecuador (not sure which one**edit: Joel just helped me Google that one, and apparently it was when Ecuadorians started petitioning for independence from Spain ) and I think we’re going whale watching.

About the paperwork; well, it looks like we’re in this for the long haul. The system in Ecuador is not very user-friendly, I’m afraid, so we’ve had a bunch of false starts that just led to dead ends, but I think we’re finally on the right track now (mixed metaphors, anyone?). Apparently, we have to get a visa in order to get a visa, to get Galapagos residency, to get a plane ticket back to the island. Does that sound like a lot? Well, it is. Especially when everything has to be done in person (in Spanish) and the places we have to go to are 3 hours away and you have to take a taxi and/or bus everywhere. So, it makes for a long, slow process. And I guess at some point we’ll have to go back to Quito to wrap things up too. At this point, I have no idea when I’ll be living in my own home in paradise again. It’s starting to feel very far away. I told my husband that that is all I want for my birthday, but that’s now just 4 weeks away, and it looks like I’ll be celebrating that right where I am. Bummer.

Anyways, on to more positive things. I saw this article (via Craft) and it really resonated with me. I have not seen the show in question (not available in Ecuador), but I think the things they talked about were relevant to the crafting community as a whole. Basically, it talked about the way that crafting has become synonomous with making things cute. I could wax poetic myself on this topic, but I won’t (for now). But you should check it out and let me know what you think.

In the background, I’ve been working on half a dozen different little projects and dreaming of dozens more that I want to undertake once I get back to my brand new studio waiting for me in Galapagos (well, it’s really a glorified corner with a desk and table devoted to my creative process, but to me, it’s the best thing I could ask for). I’ll let you know about all of that when I have some down time, which probably won’t be until Joel is back on the island. I find that keeping myself busy makes the waiting bearable.

Leave a Reply

