Hello There

I can’t believe that it has been almost  month since my last post. After detailing but a small portion of the difficulties surrounding our emigration situation, I determined that I wasn’t going to post again until it was all over. My blogging mojo was at an all-time low, and besides that, I was spending an inordinate amount of time slogging through the mire of Ecuadorian bureaucracy. Honestly, I’m feeling rather bitter that Mr. Assange is having an easier time acquiring Ecuadorian residency than me.

But now, finally, after a month of silence, I can tell you that it is over, the forces of evil and incompetence could not hold out forever, and despite all the odds, I am writing this from the sunny, airy living room of my home in the Galapagos. Perhaps someday I will share the murky details of our last battle with the government, but for now I’ll just say that I’m glad it’s all over. Good grief, am I glad! We have been in the Galapagos precisely one week, and we are loving it. I would have let you all know sooner, except my home—lovely and airy and newly painted (thanks, honey!) as it is—is still without internet access, and with all the cleaning and unpacking, and more cleaning, getting to the nearest internet outpost (my husband’s office) has not happened until today.

But be assured I have lots of fun things to share. All the pent up energy from waiting four months to get back here has been let loose, and I only hope I can keep it up. One of the best things (besides having my whole family under one roof again, of course) is my new studio niche. I’ll be showing that to you later, since it’s piled high right now with all the materials and supplies that I have amassed and am now trying to organize.

It is a little more than two months before we head north for the summer. I’ve got a lot to do between now and then. Have a wonderful weekend!

2 thoughts on “Hello There

Leave a Reply

