Ice Monsters and Other Pleasantries

Well, now that we’ve past the middle mark of the first month of the year, I thought now would be a good time to pop my head in and say hi. The truth is, I just completed (almost, since I don’t count the exterior of the fridge as any big deal after going through the inside) a major overhaul of the fridge. Let me back up. I don’t know if I mentioned, but we were in Oregon from the beginning of December until three days ago, and we are just settling back in to life in Paradise (every time I type that, I am slightly tempted to put that word in sarcasm-implying quotation marks, but really, I do love it here most of the time).

And all that time we were gone, my fridge was brooding over its neglected state. By all rights, I should have thrown the thing out long ago, but you’d be surprised how hard it is to come by a nice new fridge for a decent price on a secluded island. So I’ve hung onto it, because any fridge is better than no fridge, right? My fridge makes me question that logic. It had a record-breaking 4 inches of solid ice accumulated on the bottom of the freezer (meaning, the top of the “fridge” portion of the fridge, the “shelf” that separates the fridge from the freezer, so technically, not even in the freezer). Seriously, I feel like this defies the laws of physics, but I’m sure there is some equation for predicting the amount of ice that can form in a 6-week period given x weather conditions and y amount of years your fridge is past its prime, to put it nicely. Yes, I should have left the fridge unplugged while we were gone, but I didn’t have time to gut it of all contents before we left, and I paid for my negligence. I just finished thawing and cleaning the white beast and have just now restored it to semi-dilapidated service, so the chocolate chips I imported can get a chance to de-liquefy after several days on the counter in sticky-hot weather.

Though I’ve been all but silent on the blog, I assure you I have been quite busy behind the scenes. There were holiday toys to be made; always less done than I had planned, but a good showing nonetheless. Of course, most of my time was spent enjoying my families company and indulging in the luxuries a first world nation offers up in abundance (cheddar cheese, bacon, pickles, butter, a working oven, showers with warm water and high pressure, and libraries, to name but a few). Anyways, I’ll be sharing more as time allows. Because, truthfully, there is a lot more to be done to get our house in shape than thawing one ice monster.

Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

