Out of the blue

So, I don’t know how to begin, since it’s been so long. The short story is that life with three little girls is busy. I found myself making things, and reaching for my camera less and less to document it, and I realized I was okay with that. Sorry. I really have been making things all this time, but I’ve just kept it in the background. But here’s some proof that my creative juices haven’t completely dried up:

IMG_7991

Her This is on e of name is Lola Sapphire (or Sapphire Lola, or just “ose, ose, ose,” depending on which of my three girls you are asking).IMG_7996This is not one of those projects that I had planned for a while. Well, honestly, I did have it planned for a little while. Okay, so I may have already made a failed version of this giant rideable horse for Christmas, and well, it was a flop, literally. No under structure meant that it literally collapsed under the weight of its own stuffing. Which was okay, because it made a handy huge floor pillow, until the cheapy felt (apparently not all 100% wool is created equal) started  to pull apart. From there it was all down hill. I was fine with letting it go as a learning experience and moving on. IMG_8005Then I saw this gorilla by this amazing soft sculpture artist, and I was sure I had to try again. IMG_8016

So I did. And that one was a total failure too. Collapsed under its own weight, even with an structure inside it. But I was sure I could make it work, and take number three was a hit. IMG_8033 Of course, I didn’t want it to be too easy, so I only got myself one yard of fabric to sew the whole thing. Haha, that was fun. The biggest scraps I have left are no bigger than 2″ squares.

IMG_8036

The whole thing is stitched by hand. It’s stuffed with about 10 lbs of of wooly worms.
IMG_8039

Maybe there will be a 4th try, since the head of this horse, no matter what I tried, kept turning out like a cow instead of a horse.
IMG_8056 But for now, we’re all pretty happy with Lola right now. IMG_8070 IMG_8077

This is my favorite yarn for hair. It’s Nature’s Choice organic cotton. So soft and lovely. IMG_8085This is my entry for the #6WeeksofSofties contest at Sew Mama Sew. Thanks to them for the inspiration and challenge to make this project right!

 

One thought on “Out of the blue

  1. Consider this message a Like of your latest post. Your blog has been missed; as well as pictures of your lovely family and your surroundings. I remember those days with young children and commend your energy to keep up with yours and to be creative too. God bless-

Leave a comment